Team

We are a team of researchers and educators dedicated to a safer, more sustainable, and peaceful world. The SoTeRiA Research Laboratory increases the use of risk analysis technologies for the improvement of business enterprise performance and safety to protect workers, the public, and the environment.

Director

Zahra Mohaghegh
zahra13@illinois.edu
Associate Professor, Director
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
111 G Talbot Laboratory
(217) 300-5076

Research Scientists

ErnieErnie Kee
erniekee@illinois.edu
Research Scientist
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
SeyedSeyed Reihani
sreihani@illinois.edu
Research Scientist
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
TatsuyaTatsuya Sakurahara
sakurah2@illinois.edu
Research Assistant Professor
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
PegahPegah Farshadmanesh
pegah2@illinois.edu
Research Scientist
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
HaHa Hoang Bui
habui2@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering

Graduate Researchers

Wen-Chi Cheng
wccheng2@illinois.edu
Ph.D. Candidate
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
Sari Alkhatib
sarifa2@illinois.edu
Ph.D. Candidate
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
JohnJohn Beal
jabeal2@illinois.edu
Ph.D. Candidate
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
MohammedMohammad Albati
malbati2@illinois.edu
Ph.D. Candidate
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
Muhammad Hammad Khalid
mkhalid5@illinois.edu
Ph.D. Student
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
Jumpei KomakiJumpei Komaki
jkomaki2@illinois.edu
M.S. Student
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
MD_cropMariana Duarte
mkd4@illinois.edu
Ph.D. Student
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
Md Istiaque AhmedMd Istiaque Ahmed
miahmed2@illinois.edu
Ph.D. Student
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering

Undergraduate Researchers

MadelineMadeline Morasca
morasca3@illinois.edu
Junior
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
JakeJake Haywood Mitstifer
jakehm2@illinois.edu
Junior
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
Riley Fisher
rileyf2@illinois.edu
Sophomore
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering

Alumni

NameSoTeRiA PositionCurrent Position
Ha Hoang BuiGraduate ResearcherPostdoctoral Research Associate, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Justin PenceGraduate ResearcherFounder, Organizational Informatics LLC
Tatsuya SakuraharaGraduate ResearcherResearch Assistant Professor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Yicheng SunGraduate ResearcherSoftware Engineer at Apple
Nicholas O'SheaGraduate ResearcherSenior Consultant at AVENCORE
Ian MillerGraduate ResearcherNuclear Engineer at Enercon Services, Inc
Andrea RoyUndergraduate ResearcherSoftware Engineer Intern at Datadog
Matthew KoziolUndergraduate ResearcherScience Applications International Corp (SAIC)
Demetrio VelazcoUndergraduate ResearcherEngineer at Jensen Hughes
Ivan DilnyyUndergraduate ResearcherSystems Engineer at Raytheon
Grant SchumockUndergraduate ResearcherGraduate Student at Johns Hopkins University
Jack NovelliUndergraduate Researcher
Mateo KajicUndergraduate ResearcherSr. Health Physics Technician at Argonne National Laboratory
Lauren RobyUndergraduate ResearcherProperty Loss Analyst
Nalin GadihokeUndergraduate Researcher
Ethan GravenUndergraduate ResearcherEngineer at Jensen Hughes
Kelsey BearUndergraduate ResearcherEngineer at Jensen Hughes
Tadashi MuraseUndergraduate ResearcherPiping Stress Engineer at JGC
John SimmonsUndergraduate ResearcherNuclear Engineer at Exelon
Kazumasa ShimadaVisiting ScholarJapan Atomic Energy Agency
Sai ZhangVisiting ScholarIdaho National Laboratory
Yanhua ZouVisiting ScholarInstitute of Human Factors Engineering & Safety Management, Hunan Institute of Technology, Hengyang, China
Mehmet ErtemPostdoctoral ResearcherAssistant Professor at Osmangazi University, Eskişehir, Turkey
Ninoslav VujisicGraduate Intern

CookieSettings CookieSettings