Zahra Mohaghegh

Title Professor, Director
Department Nuclear, Plasma and Radiological Engineering

Zahra Mohaghegh is a recipient of a five-year National Science Foundation (NSF) grant for Big Data Analytics in risk assessment, the 2016 Engineering Council Award for Excellence in Advising, the 2015 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research from the College of Engineering, the George Apostolakis early-career award in risk assessment, and the Zonta International Award for her contribution to modeling large-scale complex systems. Dr. Mohaghegh is the director of the Socio-Technical Risk Analysis (SoTeRiA) laboratory ( at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Her current research focuses on: (1) the incorporation of Big Data Analytics into Probabilistic Risk Assessment (PRA) and (2) the spatio-temporal causal modeling of social and physical failure mechanisms in PRA. Since 2012, Dr. Mohaghegh and her research team have been involved in the risk-informed resolution of Generic Safety Issue 191, a long-standing issue for commercial nuclear power plants and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. She is the author of a book and over forty conference and journal publications on risk analysis.

Office 111 G Talbot Laboratory